The University of Maine at Fort Kent, founded as the Madawaska Training School in 1878, pursues a three-part mission:
- To focus on the needs of rural communities in America
- To celebrate and explore this region's unique Franco/Acadian heritage
- To study and preserve Maine's beautiful forests and wilderness.
The library began in 1885 and moved into a converted gymnasium in 1965-66 when it was dedicated as the Waneta T. Blake Library.
Blake Library Special Collections collects and provides access to historically significant materials pertaining to the university and its history, Aroostook County, the Dickey-Lincoln School project, and Maine history as it pertains to Aroostook County and its communities.
Selected Blake Library Special Collections images: